Newnan Hit-and-Run Accident Attorney
In a hit-and-run accident, the driver flees the scene of the crash. This often occurs with drivers who are uninsured, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or driving a stolen vehicle. When a driver leaves the scene of a wreck, it makes it difficult for injured victims to recover compensation. If you have been injured in a hit-and-run accident in the state of Georgia, call Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis, P.C. for legal assistance. Our Coweta County hit-and-run accident attorneys will ensure that you receive the justice and compensation that you deserve.
Why Choose Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis, P.C.?
- Our firm has seven out of 10 of the largest auto collision recoveries in Coweta County.
- With more than two decades of experience living and working in the community we serve, we are committed to providing the exemplary representation our clients deserve.
- We have unmatched results on automobile accident cases, including more million-dollar settlements than any other law firm in Coweta County.
Why You Need a Hit-and-Run Lawyer
If you have been the victim of a hit-and-run accident, your best course of action may be to consult with an experienced car accident attorney as soon as possible. Our Newnan personal injury lawyers can provide sound legal counsel, help you navigate the claims process, and deal with insurance companies on your behalf. We can help construct the strongest possible case for seeking the maximum compensation available under the law.
Georgia Hit-and-Run Law
- Provide his or her name, address, and vehicle registration number.
- Show his or her driver’s license to the driver or occupant of the other vehicle involved in the crash.
- Render assistance to any person injured in the collision, including arranging for transportation to a doctor or hospital, if it is apparent that emergency medical attention is needed.
- Make every reasonable effort to contact emergency medical services and local law enforcement when an accident victim is unconscious, unable to communicate, or appears to be deceased.
Criminal Penalties for Hit-and-Run
Any driver who leaves the scene of an accident which is the proximate cause of a death or a serious injury, upon conviction, is guilty of a felony, with criminal penalties including not less than one year and not more than five years of imprisonment. For hit-and-run in an accident that causes vehicle damage and/or injuries that are not serious, penalties may include a fine of $300 to $1000, or stay, probation, or imprisonment for up to 12 months, or both.
Who Pays for Damages in a Hit-and-Run Accident?
If the hit-and-run driver involved in your accident can be located, you are entitled to file a civil claim for compensation in addition to any criminal penalties the driver may face. If the driver who left the scene of the accident is not found, you will need to collect damages from your own insurance company. You may use your own uninsured motorist coverage for hit-and-run damages.
Contact Our Firm
There are resources to recover damages for your injuries and losses suffered in a traffic crash caused by a hit-and-run driver. Contact Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis, P.C. as soon as possible for a free consultation. Our personal injury lawyers in Coweta County will ensure that you receive compensation for your pain and suffering. We operate on a contingency-fee basis, which means you don’t pay any legal fees until we secure compensation for you.