Free Consultation Se Habla Español

Close

Menu

How to Find Out if Someone Has Car Insurance

If you get into a vehicle accident and suspect that the other driver caused the incident, then there is a good chance you will be able to recover compensation for your losses. This should include coverage of your medical bills, property damage expenses, lost wages, and various out-of-pocket expenses.

But how will you know if the other driver has insurance?

Here, we want to discuss the process of determining whether the other driver in your accident has insurance as well as how you will go about filing the insurance claim.

What Type of Insurance is Required by Georgia Law?

Just like every other state in the country, Georgia requires all drivers to purchase minimum amounts of insurance in order to remain legal on the roadway. This insurance is designed to pay for medical bills and property damage expenses for drivers if you cause an accident that harms another individual. Currently, the types and minimums required by all drivers include the following:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident

  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident

It is certainly possible for drivers to carry more insurance than this, though they will be paying higher premiums. However, the minimum limits under Georgia law will certainly not cover all expenses if a serious accident were to occur. 

How to Know if the Other Driver has Insurance

The aftermath of a vehicle accident can be chaotic, and you need to know fairly quickly whether or not the other driver has insurance. This is particularly true if the other driver caused the vehicle accident in question. At the scene of a crash, it is crucial to exchange information with the other driver involved. This includes:

  • The driver’s name

  • The driver’s contact information

  • The name of the insurance company

  • The insurance policy number

When you are at the scene of the crash, the quickest way to know whether or not the other driver has insurance is to ask them. However, depending on the incident, the other driver may be hostile (or you may be angry as well). If, at any point after a crash occurs, you do not feel safe speaking to the other parties involved, you need to wait for law enforcement officials to arrive.

You can request information from the police officer about the other individual’s insurance carrier after the collision occurs. Law enforcement officers will conduct an initial investigation into the incident and gather information from all parties involved, including insurance information.

Ultimately, you will file a claim with your insurance carrier, and your insurance carrier should be the ones to contact the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier. Additionally, a car accident attorney in Georgia can help you handle every aspect of the claim, and they communicate with the insurance carriers on your behalf. If the other driver does not have insurance, your carrier will inform you of this. 

Do You Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

You may ultimately discover that the other driver does not have insurance. This is not uncommon. According to the Insurance Information Institute, more than 12% of all drivers in Georgia are uninsured. We strongly encourage you to consider purchasing uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage from your own insurance carrier. This type of coverage will help pay for property damage and medical bills in the event you are struck by a driver with no insurance or a driver whose insurance does not cover all of your expenses.

To protect you from COVID-19, Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis is available for new and existing clients with an easy remote intake process. Contact Us Now