Experienced Newnan Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyers Advocate for a Renewal of Your Privileges
Knowledgeable Peachtree City driver’s license reinstatement attorneys explain your options
If your license was suspended, you’re probably eager to get the suspension lifted and resume your normal mode of life. However, there are a number of steps you may have to take to regain your driving privileges. Our attorneys at Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis P.C. can help you understand how to get your license reinstated and guide you through the process of making it happen.
Helping you get back out on the road
The path to reinstating your license depends on whether you intend to fight your suspension. If you are contesting the case of your suspension, either a DUI charge or a refusal to submit to a Breathalyzer® test, you have 10 days to request an administrative hearing. If you are unable to avoid the suspension, your license may be suspended for 12 months or more depending on how many DUI offenses you already have on record. Nonetheless, you may be able to seek reinstatement. The conditions for reinstatement are as follows:
- Your license must have been suspended for 120 days prior to your request for reinstatement.
- You must attend a DUI alcohol or drug use risk-reduction program as offered by a Department of Driver Services-approved school.
- A certificate of completion must be presented with your request for reinstatement.
- You must submit payment of a special reinstatement fee.
Understanding license suspensions for a breath test refusal
If you have had your license suspended for a refusal to take the DUI test at the station, you may feel you have been subjected to a raw deal. After all, the state hasn’t managed to prove conclusively that you were in fact intoxicated. However, under Georgia’s per se intoxication laws, the state doesn’t have to prove by a Breathalyzer® test that you are intoxicated in order to charge you with a DUI. Field sobriety tests and other means can form the probable cause for your arrest and the basis for your license suspension. Furthermore, your test refusal alone is enough to justify suspension. You are considered to have consented to these terms under the Georgia Implied Consent Law. The suspension for test refusal lasts for a minimum of one year. However, you may pursue reinstatement after 120 days. Our Newnan drunk driving attorneys can help you fully understand your options and pursue your legal path to getting back behind the wheel.
Contact our effective Newnan driver’s license reinstatement lawyers to get back to your daily driving routine
A loss of driving privileges can be a major disruption to your life. The attorneys at Kam, Ebersbach & Lewis P.C. are well-versed in the ways to get clients back behind the wheel after a suspension. Contact us today online or call us at (770) 251-7100 for a free consultation about your driver’s license reinstatement. We are the trusted firm in Peachtree City and Newnan.